Articles Township government

Bridgewater Police in 2026: Contracts, Equipment and Policy Questions, Explained

The police contracts, equipment and grants the Council approved in 2026; the emergency radio replacement; the end of the license-plate reader vendor relationship; the dispute over billing a driver for emergency-response costs under Chapter 40; immigration-enforcement guidance; and what residents can do.

By LocalWhy

The short version

  • Chief John Mitzak’s contract was extended through December 31, 2027 (September 17, 5-0).
  • The Council approved eight police vehicles (up to $647,401.53), uniforms and body armor, firearms equipment and a superior officers’ contract running through 2030. Police are covered by the $4,205,000 emergency radio bond adopted July 9.
  • Councilman Bucko reported on August 20 that the Township ended its relationship with the Flock license-plate reader vendor.
  • In March a speaker objected to a roughly $15,025 emergency-response bill under Chapter 40 of the Township Code. Officials said the provision recovers costs from at-fault drivers; no Council action on it appears in the minutes.

The department

The department’s website is police.bridgewaternj.gov. Council President Geiger reported on March 5 that it had earned reaccreditation “for the fourth time.” On September 17 the Council extended Chief Mitzak’s contract by one year, January 1 to December 31, 2027, by consent, 5-0. Police staffing levels are not stated in the 2026 minutes.

Contracts, equipment and grants

DateItemAmountVote
March 19Amended school resource officer agreement with the Board of Education (Res. #26-03-19-097)a $748.79 reduction from $131,792.125-0
May 7Three-year lease-purchase of eight vehicles through Nielsen Fleet (Res. #26-05-07-128)up to $647,401.534-0 (Isla absent)
June 25Uniforms and body armor, Gall’s, LLCup to $40,000.005-0 (consent)
June 25Superior Officers’ Association memorandum of agreement, Jan. 1, 2026 to Dec. 31, 2030not stated in the minutes5-0 (consent)
August 6Firearms equipment and supplies, Witmer Public Safety Groupup to $96,724.464-0 (consent; Isla absent)
September 17Grants added to the budget: Safe and Secure Communities ($45,150.00), Bulletproof Vest Partnership ($13,643.89) and others5-0

On the vehicles, the Mayor said the Township bought no new police vehicles the year before; Ring and Kirsh said a timely budget lets the Township buy faster and avoid procurement delays. On the superior officers’ agreement, Kirsh spoke of the role of superior officers in the department’s leadership.

On August 6 Chief Mitzak said the Township’s towing and storage fee ordinance conflicts in places with the New Jersey State Police fee schedule it references, and that the language would be updated with the Township Attorney.

Emergency radios

Police are among the agencies covered by Ordinance #26-10 ($4,205,000, adopted July 9, 5-0) and the $2,950,000 Motorola award (September 17, 5-0). The Administrator said the radios are expected in use from January 1. The full history is in the fire and emergency services explainer.

License-plate readers

On August 20 Councilman Bucko reported meeting Chief Mitzak and Lieutenant Stephen Zeichner about automatic license-plate readers (“Flock” cameras). He said Bridgewater does not use them “due to concerns with the vendor’s business practices,” raised concerns about control of data once it is shared with a third-party network, acknowledged the systems’ potential crime-prevention benefits, expressed confidence in the department’s own data practices, and said the Township has ended its relationship with the vendor. The minutes record his report; no Council vote on readers appears in the 2026 minutes.

Emergency-response cost recovery (Chapter 40)

  • March 5. Angela Della Ventura of Watchung told the Council her son had received a reimbursement request from the Township’s Office of Emergency Management of about $15,025 after a March 5, 2025 crash in Bridgewater, and asked for reconsideration of the amount or a payment plan. Council President Geiger said he may be able to appear at his Municipal Court hearing by Zoom and that courts often work with people on payment arrangements; Councilman Ring suggested he contact the municipal prosecutor beforehand; the Township Attorney and Administrator said the matter was under review.
  • Former Councilman Filipe Pedroso asked the Council to “Revoke the enforcement provisions of Section 40-6,” saying a 2024 change adopted 4-1, with him voting no, allows “up to six months in a jail cell” for failing to pay a cleanup bill within 45 days.
  • Chief Mitzak said the ordinance recovers emergency response costs when a driver is found responsible for a crash that needs a significant response, that “the violation does not involve jail time,” and that such costs are often covered by auto insurance. Ring said such cost recovery is used by other governments and that “the matter is not a jailable offense.” Geiger said incarceration is not typical for such matters. Kirsh said the ordinance recovers incident costs from the responsible party, which would otherwise fall on taxpayers.
  • March 17. Patch reported a Township statement that it was seeking reimbursement primarily from the driver’s insurer, and that penalty provisions including incarceration exist in ordinances across New Jersey “but these penalties are very rarely exercised.” Patch quoted the ordinance as providing a fine of $50 to $100 per day, imprisonment of up to six months, or both, for a responsible party who fails to reimburse the Township.
  • March 19. A non-resident speaker who did not give his name raised the same bill.

No Council action on Section 40-6 appears in the minutes through October 1, 2026. LocalWhy has not reviewed the text of Chapter 40 itself.

Immigration enforcement

  • On February 11, TAPinto reported a police department release in which Chief Mitzak said that, after review, “no ICE operation occurred in Bridgewater Township at any religious facility,” that the social-media claim had been identified as an AI-generated fabrication, and that ICE leadership had confirmed it would notify Bridgewater police of enforcement operations in the township.
  • On March 5, resident Manish Patel raised concerns about immigration enforcement practices and a detention facility proposed in another municipality. Geiger said Bucko was working on a potential ordinance and that the Chief had issued guidance based on state policy. Administrator Pappas said the department has “clear written guidelines, consistent with direction from the New Jersey Attorney General,” for situations involving federal immigration enforcement.
  • On August 6, Bucko said an ordinance prohibiting detention centers had largely been folded into the omnibus land-use ordinance introduced that night, and that he would offer amendments on items left out. Ring said detention centers are already prohibited under Township Code 126-324A, which bars any use not listed as permitted in a zone.

Where the records differ

  • Jail under Section 40-6. Pedroso said the provision allows up to six months in jail; Patch quoted the ordinance as allowing imprisonment of up to six months; Chief Mitzak said “the violation does not involve jail time,” and Ring said it “is not a jailable offense.” LocalWhy has not reviewed the ordinance text.

What residents can do

  • Raise police and public-safety matters in public comment at any Township Council meeting.
  • For traffic and speeding concerns, the Chief has pointed residents to the department’s Traffic Safety Unit; see roads and traffic.
  • Corrections to this page can be emailed to info@localwhy.org.

Sources

Everything above is drawn from these. Where a source is a meeting video, the township publishes it in full.

  1. Township Council minutes, March 5, 2026 (cost recovery; immigration guidance; reaccreditation) (bridgewaternj.gov)
  2. Township Council minutes, March 19, 2026 (school resource officers; cost recovery) (bridgewaternj.gov)
  3. Township Council minutes, May 7, 2026 (police vehicles) (bridgewaternj.gov)
  4. Township Council minutes, June 25, 2026 (superior officers' agreement; uniforms) (bridgewaternj.gov)
  5. Township Council minutes, July 9, 2026 (radio bond) (bridgewaternj.gov)
  6. Township Council minutes, August 6, 2026 (firearms equipment; detention centers; towing fees) (bridgewaternj.gov)
  7. Township Council minutes, August 20, 2026 (license-plate readers) (bridgewaternj.gov)
  8. Township Council minutes, September 17, 2026 (Chief's contract; grants; radios) (bridgewaternj.gov)
  9. Patch, "Bridgewater Defends $15K Hazmat Bill After Fiery Crash Rescue," March 17, 2026 (patch.com)
  10. TAPinto Bridgewater/Raritan, "Bridgewater Police Debunk Rumor About ICE Operations in Town," Feb. 11, 2026 (tapinto.net)
  11. Bridgewater Township Code (eCode360), Chapter 40 (ecode360.com)

Spotted an error? Write to info@localwhy.org and we will correct it and say so.